Chakras and their purposes

We have an energy system inside of us that is an energetic gateway; which is responsible for receiving, assimilating, and releasing energies. This energy system is known as our Chakra system. In Sanskrit, chakra means 'spinning wheels of light.' And, it is vital to keep this revolving energy system in-flow. These chakras are responsible for Energy flow through the seven centers of our body and provide healing and balance to our systems. Chakras are linked to the normality of life in that the sound, the color, and light all bond correctly with these energy centers. The chakras are the engines of our energy broadcasts; learn to read this energy system for yourself, then you can use the information to enhance your energy.

During healing the objective is to balance chakras, by aligning them correctly with a primary role of understanding nature as it is in relation to creation and the purpose of the humans in nature. There are seven main chakras located strategically throughout the body, and each has a separate but powerful role to play within our bodies.

The Root Chakra
Muladhara (Sanskrit: मूलाधार)

Signified by the color red, and this is also known as your base chakra. It is located at the base of your spine and has to do with our physical state of health, our feelings of security, our ability to manifest material success. It gives us our sense of belonging. It is the chakra that grounds us to earth. 

The Sacral Chakra
Svadhishthana (Sanskrit: स्वाधिष्ठान)

Signified by the color orange. This chakra is located just below your belly button and has to do with our creativity, our sexuality, our passion, and the ability to regulate our emotions and desires.

The Solar Plexus
Manipura (Sanskrit: मणिपूर)

This chakra is located just below the rib and above the belly button and is signified by the color yellow. This chakra promotes our mental clarity, our ability to set and define boundaries. It is our power center, our sense of identity and personality.

The Heart Chakra
Anahata (Sanskrit: अनाहत)

Signified by the color green. This chakra is all about love. It is the central chakra of our body, our emotional center where we feel love, understanding, compassion, and the capacity to forgive.

The Throat Chakra
Vishuddha (Sanskrit: विशुद्ध)

This chakra is the communication center and is signified by the color blue. It is all about how you express yourself to the world. Does the image you present sit happily alongside what you think and feel? Do you leave a lot unsaid? Verbally it may not be expressed, but on an energy level, it is!

The Brow Chakra

Ajna (Sanskrit: आज्ञा)

Also known as the third eye. Signified by the color indigo, it is our intuitive center, where we get our gut feelings, our inspirations.

The Crown Chakra
Sahasrara (Sanskrit: सहस्रार)

This chakra is signified by the color white or purple and deals with our greater wisdom, the acknowledgment of our soul and life purpose. It is our direct connection to the Universe or Source.


Each chakra resonates with a particular frequency or vibration, and we can invite them back into balance by using color, light, touch, sound, aroma, etc. By pleasantly stimulating the senses, we can balance our nervous system, and ultimately our chakras. I have always found success through meditation on each individual chakra.

You can never fool your body. It is the most sensitive barometer of our inner world. Your body speaks to you every day. It pays to listen to those whispers.

Sahasrara is the crown chakra! At Sahasrara, we are an exceptional brand that provides the highest quality Indian Temple Remy. We are the go-to place to get information, resources, and expert advice on yoga, meditation, and Indian remy.